Teaching with media

June 2, 2009 at 12:59 pm 1 comment

Those of you who have been to www.mrroughton.com know that my philosophy on education is that motivation is key. I believe a motivated student is a successful student almost every time.

On mrroughton.com you can find some information about the media I use to keep my students motivated.  My goal with this section of the site is to provide many more ideas on using popular media in the classroom.  I will include reviews of whatever I come across that I think can fit into the classroom.

I’ll rate media using the following categories:

-Motivational Potential: How will students react to this media? A 1 rating here indicates “might as well be a textbook” whereas a 5 rating indicates “might as well be an Xbox.”

-Educational Potential: What is the educational component of this media and how much do you get out of versus the time it runs? A 1 rating in this category would indicate only a minor, passing educational reference (if it had none it wouldn’t be on the site) that many students may not even get, a 5 would indcate documentary-level education.  I will also comment on the classroom-appropriateness of the media here.

My background is in history so that will be the focus of the site but any educational content I come across in media will be shared.

Entry filed under: News.

NEWS: Project Natal and Milo

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Laurie  |  July 15, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Thanks so much for all the great things your doing you have really inspired me to change many of the things I do in my clasroom and I have seen success already!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

10 Latest Media Finds

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

