Archive for August 20, 2009

[RANT] RIP Popfly, Shame on you Microsoft

Technology is a vile beast. As we all know it goes wrong at the worst possible moments, teases constantly, and is never satisfied to just stay in one place.

It is with that cynical look that I announce the death of Microsoft’s Popfly.com. As of Aug 24 with little to no fanfare Microsoft is ending it. This isn’t the first time a service I’ve used has died but it is the first time one so integral to my classroom has. I used Popfly to create learning games for my website as well as interactive maps.

I actually feel betrayed.

Maybe that is a sign I take all this stuff far too seriously but when I think of how much time I put into it and how much my kids utilized it I’m left very angry. I’ll move on, of course. I guess I’ll finally break down and learn to use Sharendipity now. I’ll use photobucket for my image carousel and there has to be another way to embed maps into my site.

To find out now though, only 2 weeks before the start of school is like getting dumped right before prom.

Microsoft, you’ve broken my heart.

August 20, 2009 at 1:59 pm Leave a comment


Categories

Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31